Return to Headlines

2018 State Schools of Character

EducationPlus Logo


For Immediate Release

Contact: Christine McDonald

Director of Communications


CharacterPlus Celebrates 2018 State Schools of Character

(February 2, 2018) St. Louis, MO… CharacterPlus, a resource of EducationPlus, congratulates the 11 schools and one school district that have been named "Missouri and Illinois Schools of Character" by These schools have demonstrated that their focus on character development had a positive impact on academic achievement, student behavior and school climate. Nationally, only 63 schools and 5 school districts received the honor this year. State Schools of Character (SSOC) are selected by in collaboration with state sponsors and recognize schools that have achieved a standard of excellence in the area of character development. The SSOC designation recognizes schools and districts that demonstrate an exemplary level of implementation of the 11 Principles of Effective Character Education. These schools will hold this status for three years. Schools recognized this year as State Schools of Character include (*denotes CharacterPlus member):

Missouri Schools of Character

Ballwin Elementary (Rockwood School District)*

Farmington Middle (Farmington R-7 School District)*

Hancock Place High (Hancock Place School District)

Kentucky Trail Elementary (Belton School District)

Maplewood Richmond Heights Elementary (Maplewood Richmond Heights School


Parkway Early Childhood Center (Parkway School District)*

Parkway Central Middle (Parkway School District)*

Ray and Nancy Hodge Elementary (Fox School District)*

Reed Elementary (Ladue School District)*

Windsor Elementary (Windsor School District)*

Missouri District of Character

Windsor C-1 School District* 

Illinois School of Character

Ellis Elementary (Harmony Emge School District)*

Additionally, three schools received the designation of Honorable Mention this year. They include:

Brown Elementary (Hazelwood School District)*

Lafayette High (Rockwood School District)*

Spoede Elementary (Ladue School District)*

Recognition as a State School of Character is a prerequisite for's National Schools of Character program. All schools named a State School of Character this year are eligible to be considered for National School of Character. If a school is designated a National School of Character, they will hold that designation for five years. The State Schools of Character program in Missouri is administered by CharacterPlus and is generously supported by Emerson. CharacterPlus is a nonprofit committed to developing positive character traits in young people by providing a high-quality character education process and resources to schools, homes and communities. Through CharacterPlus, these schools have received development and training in effective character education for school transformation.

For additional information about this event or each school’s journey to State School of Character designation, contact Christine McDonald, EducationPlus Director of Communications, at 314.692.1233 or