Return to Headlines

CharacterPlus Celebrates 2017 State Schools of Character

EdPlus Logo

For Immediate Release

Contact: Christine McDonald

Director of Communications




CharacterPlusCelebrates 2017 State Schools of Character

(January 27, 2017) St. Louis, MO… CharacterPlus®, a resource of EducationPlus®, congratulates the 10 member schools and two member school districts that have been named "Missouri and Illinois Schools of Character" by These schools have demonstrated that their focus on character development has had a positive impact on academic achievement, student behavior and school climate. Nationally, only 80 schools and 6 districts from 21 states received the honor this year.

State Schools of Character (SSOC) are selected by in collaboration with state sponsors and recognize schools that have achieved a standard of excellence in the area of character development. The SSOC designation recognizes schools and districts that demonstrate an exemplary level of implementation of the 11 Principles of Effective Character Education. These schools will hold this status for three years.

Area schools recognized this year as State Schools of Character include:  

Missouri Schools of Character

Alma Schrader Elementary (Cape Girardeau School District)

Carman Trails Elementary (Parkway School District)

Green Pines Elementary (Rockwood School District)

Green Trails Elementary (Parkway School District)

Lindbergh Early Childhood Education (Lindbergh School District)

Northeast Middle (Parkway School District)

Southwest Middle (Parkway School District)

Stanton Elementary (Rockwood School District)

Wild Horse Elementary (Rockwood School District)

Missouri District of Character

Parkway School District

Illinois School of Character

Freeburg Primary School (Freeburg School District)

Illinois District of Character

Belleville #118 School District


Additionally, five CharacterPlus schools were given the designation of Honorable Mention this year. They include:

Ballwin Elementary (Rockwood School District)

Brown Elementary (Hazelwood School District)

Stix Early Childhood (St. Louis Public Schools)

Truman Middle School (Lindbergh School District)

Windsor Elementary (Windsor School District)

Recognition as a State School of Character is a prerequisite for's National Schools of Character program. All schools named a State School of Character this year are automatically considered for National School of Character. If a school is designated a National School of Character, they will hold that designation for five years.

The State Schools of Character program in Missouri is administered by CharacterPlus and is generously supported by Emerson. CharacterPlus is a nonprofit committed to developing positive character traits in young people by providing a high-quality character education process and resources to schools, homes and communities. Through CharacterPlus, these schools have received development and training in effective character education for school transformation.  

For additional information about this event or each school’s journey to State School of Character designation, contact Christine McDonald, EducationPlus Director of Communications, at 314.692.1233 or